Physical Move Completed

It has been a while since I’ve posted anything, but once our family was reunited in Chicago, we spent time getting settled and more organized.  So blog writing took a back seat. Now that things have slowed down a bit and I have a resolution to complete return to blogging, I am finally recounting those final days in Montreal.

As I said in the last post, we finally got approval for my wife’s visa.  The light was at the end of the tunnel.  Fortunately we had already booked a flight to Montreal to visit my wife.  But instead of just returning without her this time, we booked a one-way ticket for her to join us.  It was an emotional weekend as you could expect.  We had some business to finish with our car. I will address that in another post since it is quite a long story.  For the four of us there was some electricity in the air. After a long hard delay it was finally going to happen.  Our former neighbor and friend let us stay at her place since she was going to be away. That added a bit of surrealism to the weekend since we were next door to our former home and we were still in our old neighborhood. We had a goodbye get together that got a bit emotional.  I met up with friends but unfortunately did not feel well and did not stay as long as I would have liked. Then we finally boarded the plane as a family.

I had pictured us arriving by car with all our stuff watching the skyline grow in front of us, so arriving by plane was not a momentous, but at that point I didn’t care. We were incredibly nervous for that final pass through customs, but that was thankfully unmomentous.  That evening was spent presenting our new apartment to my wife.  She had only seen the place through pictures, videos, and a Skype walk-through, so thankfully she approved of the place.  The next day was spent showing her the neighborhood and our routine before she arrived.  It was so nice to be back together again and to be fully functioning.  We could finally start to see what our new life would be.

Leave a comment